“You know, I haven’t [read a script],” Pine said. “I really, in terms of the ‘Star Trek’ of it all, I wish I knew anything. I’m quite literally one of the last people ever to find out. So, I haven’t read that script, I don’t know where it is in development, I haven’t read the Noah Hawley script, I have no idea what’s happening in ‘Star Trek’ land.”

Pine has heard about Tarantino’s R-rated “Star Trek” movie, written with “The Revenant” scribe Mark L. Smith based on an original Tarantino idea, and he’s eager for it as much as anyone. “I love the character, I love the universe, I love my friends in it, you know, to have a Quentin take on it would be tremendously interesting and entertaining,” he said. “You know, look, whatever happens, if I come back or not, it’s a great universe, it deserves to have a future, and I hope that is the case.” Tarantino has long been an admirer of Pine as an actor (the director said at the beginning of 2020 that Pine was “hands down” the best young actor of his generation), and Pine’s performance as Kirk in J.J. Abrams’ 2009 “Star Trek” reboot and its sequel “Star Trek Into Darkness” is part of the reason the filmmaker wanted a go at the space franchise. Tarantino once told MTV, “I thought Chris Pine did a fantastic job not just playing Capt. Kirk but playing William Shatner’s captain — he is William Shatner. He’s not just another guy, he’s William Shatner’s Capt. Kirk.” Mark L. Smith is currently making the press rounds in support of his new film, the George Clooney-directed space epic “The Midnight Sky,” and revealed earlier this month that Tarantino’s “Star Trek” script has “so much fun” with Pine’s Kirk. Tarantino himself as described his “Star Trek” film as an “earth bound” 1930s gangster movie. With the “Star Trek” franchise on hold, Pine next appears in “Wonder Woman 1984” (streaming December 25 on HBO Max) and has signed on to star in a live-action “Dungeons and Dragons” movie. Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.