In a new interview with Variety, Cronenberg opined about the long process of financing the film, and tried to clarify what he views as misconceptions about the process of working with big streaming services.

He went on to say that Netflix gets credit for distributing diverse and often boundary-pushing storytelling from around the world, but he believes the movies and shows that they produce themselves are much more generic. Related ‘1899’ Canceled by Netflix After One Season ‘Queen Charlotte: A Bridgerton Story’ Sneak Peek: Adjoa Andoh’s Lady Danbury Origin Story Is Revealed Related Oscars 2023: Best Visual Effects Predictions The Best Film Sound of 2022
“The difference is that Netflix can show very interesting streaming series from Korea, from Finland, and they say it’s a Netflix original, but it isn’t really — it’s something they have acquired,” he said. “But I think when it comes to their actual production that they do themselves, they’re very conservative. I think they think in mainstream terms, that’s my experience with them anyway.” IndieWire has reached out to Netflix for comment. “I tried and we got to two episodes, and then they decided not to do it,” he said. “And I was disappointed because I was interested in streaming in cinematic terms. I thought that would be a very interesting experience for me as a writer, as a creator, and then also as a director. And maybe I’ll have that experience one day, but at the moment, it’s still on movie making, not filmmaking. So the project that I was talking to Netflix about, it will be a feature film instead.” Neon releases “Crimes of the Future” in U.S. theaters on June 3 following its premiere in competition at Cannes. Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.