We’ll soon know where that sick, hilarious bond finds them in Season 3 when the new batch of episodes premieres on October 17, but in the meantime, the actors are reminiscing about how their relationship came to by in a new interview in The Hollywood Reporter. (Via Insider.) As Culkin explains, the writers concocted the idea based on actual flirting that took place between Culkin and Smith-Cameron on the set of Season 1.

“I would flirt with J. in the most obnoxious way, just to fuck around,” Culkin said. During the filming of the Season 1 finale “Nobody Is Ever Missing,” Culkin and Smith-Cameron would check out each other’s butts on set. Related The 11 Most Anticipated TV Shows of 2023 ‘Riches’ Imagines a ‘Succession’ Scenario Where Big Business Is Good Related Oscars 2023: Best Sound Predictions Oscars 2023: Best Original Song Predictions
“I remember the writers all laughing,” Smith-Cameron recalled, “but it never occurred to me that it would inform anything they wrote.” The two actors were already friends and collaborators ahead of “Succession,” as they both starred in “Margaret” and “The Starry Messenger,” and Culkin appeared in the play “This Is Our Youth,” written by Smith-Cameron’s husband Kenneth Lonergan. Culkin admitted to wanting to see a sexual relationship play out between their characters. “I remember saying to my wife in season one, ‘I really hope something happens sort of sexually or romantically between those two, but I don’t know that it ever will,’” he said. A promo poster released by HBO all but confirmed that Gerri and Roman’s alliance will carry over into the new season. “I have to say in my long career, I don’t know that I’ve been in such an unusual story arc. It’s so interesting to me, and complicated and kind of shocking — and it’s sort of sad and fascinating in terms of #MeToo, and in terms of women of a certain age, flexing their power,” Smith-Cameron told Variety back in 2020. Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.